Standard Bearer

Standard Bearer

Deep in the Essence pool
I sink
Unencumbered by old ways so that I can find the Old Ways
Locked within self
Waiting

They did not need to wait for ever
And I am so grateful for their song
I dance a slower dance now,
But I still dance

It is woven of fibers of mist and fire
Of sinew and bone
It soars through the air
And hunkers by the fire

It remembers the running, giggling girl
And honors the fickle, fecund maiden
It embraces the mother’s heart
It takes the standard of Crone
With open arms

It is all that I am
Open, bold, free

What I do not give
Cannot be taken

Be careful what you ask for,
and of
me.

© 07/13/2010, Jade Porter

3 thoughts on “Standard Bearer

  1. A very nice read indeed.. Thank you for sharing this.. 🙂
    I quite relate to this one.. (smirk!!)

    I sincerely invite you to join our 18th potluck beginning this Sunday, Hope to see you at http://www.jinglepoetry.blogspot.com/

    Week 18 Theme: Languages, Signs and Symbol. Poets , especially First Time Participants are also welcome to share old poems or poems unrelated to our theme..

    Let me know if you have questions…hope to see you in… Your participation delights us, keep writing, and keep sharpening your talent …
    xoxox

    Like

  2. welcome sharing your poems with our poetry potluck today..

    you can link in 1 to 3 old poems or poems unrelated to our theme as first time participant, have fun.

    you got talent, keep it up.

    Happy Tuesday.

    Like

Make a Ripple...

